There are many factors to consider if you get in an accident in Lafayette, Louisiana. For one, the state requires all drivers to have auto insurance coverage. While this policy can increase the likelihood that you will get the compensation you deserve, the situation may not be so cut and dry.
Louisiana can make compensation difficult if you are not insured, even if you did not cause the crash. However, you should not feel completely discouraged from filing a claim. To better understand your entitlements, it helps to break down Louisiana’s “no pay, no play” policy piece by piece.
After an accident, there are several reasons why you might not want to file a claim through an insurance company. Louisiana is second to Michigan in having the most expensive car insurance. You may feel that your reluctance to get full coverage will bar you from reparations, but this is not the case. Louisiana law only requires you to carry liability insurance that covers $25,000 in auto repairs and $15,000 in each individual’s medical fees.
You may think that you are not entitled to reimbursement under any circumstance if you do not have coverage. However, there are notable exceptions to this rule. If a driver is breaking the law when he or she hits you, you might still get compensation regardless of your coverage. Also, if your car is legally parked, the “no pay, no play” policy does not apply.
A car accident can drastically throw off your life. On top of suffering from a serious injury, there is a financial burden when missed work, vehicle repairs and medical bills accumulate. Understanding Louisiana law can encourage you to seek out the compensation you deserve.